You are just too healthy, hmm

Are you beating yourself up over being in a toxic relationship too long? Are you confused over the actions of someone in your world whether it’s at work or at a family gathering? Is your gut feeling screaming at you to pay attention, but you just keep giving the benefit of the doubt? You aren’t alone and I hope to give a different perspective today.

There are sick people in this world and narcissists are in that category. It is truly hard to believe that someone would dedicate their life to hurting people. Our healthy minds don’t readily go to a point that says “oh he is purposely trying to hurt me.” Well, this is because narcissists don’t think the same as the rest of us. It is a personality disorder and they are sick. They use the gap of your lack of knowledge to prey upon you. Picture a thief asking you for the time and as you look down at your watch they hit you over the head and steal your belongings. You aren’t expecting that, because you are actually just too healthy. Your mind doesn’t assume that you are about to be physically harmed by someone who lives by different rules. That gap is all it took to be mugged or even killed. That’s the gap I’m trying to close for you. Just think about it, you are just too healthy that should make you feel better. This is why you stayed too long. This is why you tolerate your family member’s abuse. This is why you didn’t speak up at work. There’s a knowledge gap that many are in and unfortunately narcissists are having their field day in that gap.

Just yesterday, I was shopping. I was minding my own business and happy to find a few things I liked. I saw someone out of the corner of my eye come very quickly over to my area. He made a beeline for me. He claimed to like my boots and wondered what brand they were. Because of my situational awareness, I handled it so that I wasn’t vulnerable to assault. I closed the gap, because of the knowledge I have gained. Now, maybe it was an innocent inquiry, but if you start thinking like these sick people out there, your gap will be narrowed and your safety profile enhanced. Right?

It’s great to be healthy in your mindset thinking that most people live by the same rules, but don’t you think it’s even healthier to be aware of the narcissist so that the gap is no longer the place you reside where you are abused and a victim? So don’t beat yourself up for not catching up quicker to the truth. It’s not human nature to assume people are out to get you, but let me tell you narcissists don’t ever give it up. They are relentless predators of your knowledge gap that doesn’t have to be there anymore! Please close the gap for your own happiness!

Blessings for a healthier you in this new year!

Ilaya (Author of The Chameleons Among Us)

5 thoughts on “You are just too healthy, hmm

  1. Great post, thank you. I filled my gaps too after getting caught in their traps at my last workplace.. thank you for the share. We all need to be educated on Narcissistic behavior. Happy Holidays to you!

    Like

Leave a comment